Recipe… of DOOOOOM. (writing prompt) day 6

So, this was simply supposed to be a recipe. Any recipe.  I saw “doom” without seeing the humor in it and thought, hmmm, I can maybe write a recipe of doom.  Like murderous recipe.  After thinking on it, I really am running short on ideas. Also, I’d hate for my blog to get flagged and have anyone in my life ever turn up dead and be looked at suspiciously.

I am going to share a recipe for Kugelis.  This Lithuanian dish is one that my mom grew up with, learned how to make and passed the recipe on to me.  My grandmother was Lithuanian and she made the best kugelis I’ve ever had, though my mom’s is up there, too.  I was told not long ago by my cousin Michael that my kugelis tasted just like Grandma’s. That made me happy.

Kugelis

8 pounds of Red or Yukon Gold potatoes

1 large yellow or sweet onion, diced

1 pound Bacon, diced

1 stick of butter

7-9 large eggs

salt & pepper to taste

Shortening

9×13 glass baking dish (glass produces the best crust, in my opinion)

Sour cream (as a garnish)

Dice the bacon and onions and throw them in a saucepan.  Cook them on medium heat until the bacon is a little crispy.  Once the bacon is a caramelized brown, turn off the heat and drop the stick of butter into the pan (with no heat, it will melt).

Before you start peeling potatoes, grab a large plastic bowl and fill it with cold water.  Make sure the bowl is large enough to hold all the potatoes grater.jpgyou’ll be grating.  Also, it’s a good idea to thoroughly grease the glass pan with the shortening before you grate the potatoes.  As you peel the potatoes, put them in the cold water.  This will keep them from turning brown while you finish the rest.  Once all are peeled, pull out this handy grater. This is what I ALWAYS use. I never shortcut with a food processor because it changes the texture ENTIRELY.  If you don’t feel like grating them all by yourself, recruit a family member to help.  Mine are usually good for a few potatoes each. Grate quick, so the potatoes don’t suffer a great browning.

I grate the potatoes into a colander, that way I don’t have to worry about draining them.  This would be a good time to preheat the oven to 425 degrees.  Throw the potatoes into another bowl (or just empty the water from the bowl you used to keep them after peeling, which is what I do.).  Add the salt & pepper and the eggs.  I use 8 eggs, usually.  Some people like it more egg-y, some like it less. You decide your preference.  Once the eggs & salt & pepper are incorporated, add the bacon & onions.  Stir that up well, then pour the Kugelis into the well greased pan.
BSANYO DIGITAL CAMERAake at 425 degrees for 15 minutes, then turn the heat down to 350 degrees and cook for another 35-45 minutes.  Serve with sour cream.  It takes some elbow grease to make, but the flavor is so worth it.

Kugelis photo credit

One thought on “Recipe… of DOOOOOM. (writing prompt) day 6

Leave a Reply

